Locus product guide · Updated
What's the best wallet for an AI agent?
The best wallet for an AI agent keeps keys away from the model and enforces spend limits before a payment signs. Coinbase, Circle, Crossmint, Privy, Turnkey, and Pay With Locus all do this. Choose by chain, key model, and controls. If the agent only pays for APIs, a prepaid Locus Pro balance may replace the wallet.
What makes a wallet safe for an AI agent?
A safe agent wallet never gives the model the private key, and it checks every payment against limits you set. Everything else is a trade-off between chains, setup effort, and cost.
- Key isolation: keys sit in a TEE, secure enclave, MPC, or HSM, and the agent only gets scoped signing rights.
- Spend limits: a per-transaction cap and a budget per day, month, or session.
- Allowlists: the agent can only pay approved addresses, contracts, or merchants.
- Approvals: payments above a threshold wait for a human.
- Revocation: you can cut off the agent without moving funds.
- Gas: sponsored gas means the agent does not need a second token to pay fees.
How do the main AI agent wallets compare?
The table uses only what each vendor publishes on its own site as of September 29, 2026. "Not published" means we did not find a price on the pages we checked.
| Wallet | Key model | Chains | Agent controls | Gas | Public pricing |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coinbase Agentic Wallets | Non-custodial, keys in Coinbase TEEs, never shown to the model | Base, Polygon, Solana, plus testnets | Session caps, per-transaction limits, KYT and OFAC screening | Gasless | Not published |
| Circle Agent Wallets | User-controlled, 2-of-2 MPC. Key shares never exposed to the agent | See Circle docs for supported chains | Daily or monthly USDC limits for transfers and x402, address allow and block lists | Sponsored, with a cap Circle may change | Not published |
| Crossmint | Non-custodial stablecoin wallets | Stablecoins in 150+ countries | Spending limits, merchant allowlists, approval above a threshold, scoped permissions | Not stated on the agents page | Not published |
| Privy | Keys protected by TEEs. Agent-owned wallets or delegated signing on a user wallet | See Privy docs for supported chains | Policies on tokens, chains, per-transaction and time-window caps, recipient allowlists | Not stated on the agents page | Free up to 499 monthly users. Policy engine listed on Enterprise |
| Turnkey | Non-custodial, keys in secure enclaves | EVM, Solana, Bitcoin, Tron | Policies by address, contract, and spend limit. Co-approval for large actions | Not stated on the agents page | Pay as you go: 25 free signatures, then $0.10 each. Pro $99 per month |
| Skyfire | Skyfire-managed agent wallet funded ahead of time | USDC on Base for funding. Card tokens for merchants | Spending limits per agent | Not applicable to card payments | Not published |
| Pay With Locus | Non-custodial ERC-4337 smart wallet. Your key is never stored by Locus. Agent key in an HSM, revocable | Base only | Allowances, per-transaction limits, approval thresholds, session budgets, policy groups | Sponsored by Locus | $0 per month. Tools bill their quoted price |
Which agent wallet should I pick?
Pick by what you are building. The list below maps common cases to the wallet whose own site describes that case.
- An agent that pays x402 endpoints and trades on Base or Solana: Coinbase Agentic Wallets.
- USDC-only payments with MPC keys and daily or monthly limits: Circle Agent Wallets.
- Wallets plus virtual cards for merchant checkout: Crossmint.
- An app that already uses embedded wallets for its users: Privy delegated signing.
- Your own wallet infrastructure across many chains, priced per signature: Turnkey.
- Agents that browse and buy from websites with verified identity: Skyfire.
- A USDC wallet on Base with approvals, email sends, and no gas token: Pay With Locus.
How does the Locus agent wallet work?
Pay With Locus gives each agent a non-custodial USDC wallet on Base. It is an ERC-4337 smart wallet with two signers: your key, which Locus never stores, and a permissioned key held in an HSM that you can revoke.
Locus sponsors gas through its own paymaster, so the wallet only needs USDC. You can fund it through the Coinbase onramp in the dashboard. Controls include allowances, per-transaction limits, and approval above a threshold. The agent can also send USDC to an email address through an escrow subwallet.
The use-case page AI Agent Wallet covers the architecture. AI Agent Spending Limits covers the policy engine.
Does my agent need a crypto wallet at all?
Only if it must hold, send, or receive stablecoins. If the agent just pays for APIs and tools, a prepaid balance does the same job without keys or chains.
Locus Pro works this way. You buy credits by card, connect the agent through hosted MCP, the Locus CLI, or the API, and each call draws from one balance. Locus pays the providers, including x402 and MPP endpoints, so the agent never signs a transaction.
Locus Pro checks the balance before each call and returns HTTP 402 if it cannot cover the price. You can add a monthly spend cap, scope which tools a credential can use, and set a ceiling on live-quoted calls.
How do I test an agent wallet before trusting it?
Fund it with a small amount and try to break your own limits. A wallet is only as safe as the checks that run when the agent misbehaves.
- Ask the agent to pay more than the per-transaction cap and confirm it is blocked.
- Loop small payments until the daily or session budget runs out.
- Send to an address outside the allowlist.
- Revoke the agent key and confirm the next payment fails.
- Check that each payment shows which agent made it and why.
Frequently asked questions
Are AI agent wallets custodial?
Most of the wallets on this page describe themselves as non-custodial: Coinbase, Circle, Crossmint, Turnkey, and Pay With Locus. The agent gets limited signing rights, and the provider stores keys in a TEE, enclave, MPC, or HSM.
Can an AI agent have a wallet without holding ETH for gas?
Yes. Coinbase Agentic Wallets are gasless, Circle sponsors gas up to a cap, and Pay With Locus sponsors gas through its paymaster. The wallet then only needs USDC.
What is the difference between an agent wallet and a server wallet?
A server wallet is general wallet infrastructure your backend controls, like Privy or Turnkey. An agent wallet adds agent-facing setup, such as a CLI, MCP server, or skill, plus limits built for autonomous spending.
Is Pay With Locus the same as Locus Pro?
No. Pay With Locus is the on-chain product: a non-custodial USDC wallet on Base. Locus Pro is a prepaid credit balance for paid APIs and tools, bought by card, with no wallet to manage.
Implementation references
Use these first-party references for current request contracts and account requirements. Tool availability, prices, and negotiated terms can change.
Sources
Third-party details were checked on September 29, 2026. Vendors change pricing and features often, so confirm on their site before you decide.